Home
Careers
Club Search
Message Board
Carver Galleries
Subscription Services
What a wonderful magazine, every issue is like Christmas!... Continue
To view the
Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Message Board
CLICK HERE


Welcome to the Woodcarving Illustrated Message Board, an online wood carving forum community where you can join thousands of carvers from around the world discussing all things related to carving. To gain full access to the message board you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:
  • Browse over 90,000 posts.
  • Communicate privately with other carvers from around the world.
  • Post your own photos or view from 3,500 user submitted images.
  • Gain access to exclusive wood carving promotions offered by Wood Carving Illustrated and Fox Chapel Publishing.
All this and much more is available to you absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact the Woodcarving Illustrated Message Board's Support Team.

Go Back   Woodcarving Illustrated Message Board > Wood Carving > General Wood Carving
Register

General Wood Carving

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2004, 07:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 113
Default VIRUS??????????????

HI FOLKS, I WAS JUST WONDERING ABOUT A E-MAIL I GOT YESTERDAY. MAYBE SOMEBODY KNOWS THIS PERSON OR HAS SEEN HIS ( GREETINGS FROM COSTA RICA) E-MAIL OFFERINGS. HE GOES ON TO EXPLAIN THAT HE IS IN THE BUSNESS OF ( EXOTIC DRIFTWOOD. AND IS OFFERING ME A CHANCE TO MAKE (BIG MONEY).HE ALSO SAYS HE'S A MEMBER OF THE CARVING WORLD MESSAGE BOARD. HAS ANYONE ELSE GOTTEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS FROM THIS PERSON? I SKIPPED OVER THE NAMES IN OUR MEMBERSHIP AND COULD NOT FIND SUCH A PERSON LISTED. HE ALSO WRITES THAT IF YOU WANT TO SEE SOME PHOTOS PLEASE LET ME KNOW. I DIDN'T CLICK ON THE OFFER BECAUSE I DON'T TRUST MESSAGES LIKE THIS..........IF ANYONE HAS GOTTEN AN E-MAIL LIKE THIS OR WHATEVER,WOULD YOU COMMENT ON IT? THANKS...........DAN.........
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2004, 08:48 AM
Hi_Ho_Sliver's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Arizona
Posts: 9,256
Default Re: VIRUS??????????????

I got one of those too....I just deleted it! :
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2004, 10:23 AM
clifford_parker
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: VIRUS??????????????

It looked like someone accessed the members list and wrote to all of us. I simply deleted it as I do with all spam. There are a number of reputable online shops that carry exotic woods and if I ever need some I will deal with them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2004, 11:48 AM
David_Aaron_Sercel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ethridge, TN
Posts: 140
Default Re: VIRUS??????????????

I got one of those too. I just deleted it, don't want to take a chance.
__________________
Visit my online gallery at: http://www.jaminmark.com/das/gallery.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2004, 12:32 PM
colin_Partridge
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: VIRUS??????????????

Like wise I recieved the same email although my Norton Anti Virus didnt display it as having a virus I also didnt open it. I think what it is, is a person who has a whole beach full of this stuff and is trying to make some money. I just cant imagine how much it would cost to ship a piece like that from Costa Rica too expensive for me.
Colin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2004, 03:18 PM
mysticpeterson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairmont wv
Posts: 44
Send a message via Yahoo to mysticpeterson
Default Re: VIRUS??????????????

i recieved 2 of them yesterday just deleted it though
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-23-2004, 03:27 PM
randy48
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: VIRUS??????????????

I got two and deleted them also.

The site owner needs to update their security to preventive any more losers from harvesting our addresses and also ban the SOB from the site!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-23-2004, 07:05 PM
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: VIRUS??????????????

Delete it. Big Al
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-23-2004, 11:21 PM
dart's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 335
Send a message via ICQ to dart
Default Re: VIRUS??????????????

I didn't get any so far but I would just delete it and not open it as it may just be spam or have a virus or both? There are some really good programs that can be gotten to check for viruses and knock out the pop-up ads. I have a couple running all the time. It would cost me a fortune to get wood from a foreign country. I can just get some around my area much more inexpensively. No need for exotic wood. Some of it may cause allergic reations too. I just use white pine even though it does have many knots in it. I am not allergic to it. Jim
__________________
Wattles and Daub.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2004, 06:57 AM
plain_ol_ed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: VIRUS??????????????

For anybody interested log on to
sarc.com
it is maintained by symantec (Norton AntiVirus people) and lists the latest viruses (virii), the systems affected, the ones immune, etc. It also has detection and removal tools for the latest virus's (I have not idea how to spell it). In addition if you scroll down the page you will see a 'Check for Security Risks' link. Click it and you get to a page where you can get a virus check and have your system scanned for security risks. You can also sign up to get emailed alerts for the latest virus (they happen a lot more frequently than you might think).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A New Virus!!!!!!!! Hugh General Wood Carving 7 04-04-2005 02:20 PM
Virus Warning...AGAIN!! Callynne General Wood Carving 11 11-16-2004 07:36 AM
VIRUS WARNING Mr._Carvit General Wood Carving 20 03-08-2004 05:44 AM
Did one of you try to email me or a virus?? toycarver General Wood Carving 5 03-06-2004 12:29 AM
POSSIBLE VIRUS ICARVE2003 General Wood Carving 8 09-06-2003 08:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2007 Fox Chapel Publishing Co., Woodcarving Illustrated
Tell a Friend
New Carving Books
Santa Carving Contest